Crane…, no no, its an Egret

I got myself a DSLR last week. Canon 1100D. I have tried to learn how to use it effectively over last few days. And I don’t think I am progressing fast enough. Anyway, here is a photo I took on Sunday morning in one of the fields around my home. It is a Crane of some kind but I was unable to get its scientific name from the net.
(Update: Apparently, it is not a Crane but an Egret.  Thanks Anshul and RashMe.   [tweet 151211219624267776]) ..I would really appreciate it if anybody can point me in right direction.

Here is the exif info. I got this using Jeffery’s Exif Viewer. I am also trying my hand at post processing. But it looks like un-calibrated monitors tend to mess up with it. I doubt this photo will have too much contrast for some people. 😦

Artist: Sudarshan Kadam
Camera: Canon EOS 1100D
Lens: Canon EF-S55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II
Shot at 194 mm
Exposure: Auto exposure, Aperture-priority AE, 1/256 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100
Flash: Off, Did not fire
Focus: AI Focus AF, with a depth of field of from 6.52 m to 5.9 m.
AF Area Mode: Multi-point AF or AI AF
9 thoughts on “Crane…, no no, its an Egret

  1. Oh, no, now that you have a DSLR, you have to change your “About Me” info. 🙂 Congrats on the new camera! 🙂

    I like this shot, crane or egret or what. Very simple and you isolated the bird really well.

    It takes a while to learn a new camera, especially when you’ve not worked with DSLR’s before. Take your time there, and just shoot. I like getting things right in camera too, without doing much post processing. That’s just me though. You’ve got a good eye, so just have fun out there I think. 🙂

  2. I love this shot — the angle, action and clarity. Don’t mess around too much with DSLR in hopes of learning EVERYTHING so quickly. It takes a lot of patience and time to understand. But i am sure you can already tell the difference in your photo quality. Great work 🙂

    • Thanks.. and if you knew me personally (;)) you wouldn’t be saying this.. I already read all manuals that came with the camera.. already halfway through the big manual. Tried nearly all combinations I could think of in less than a week after getting the camera. Already shot Birds, Sun, Stars, Sky, Trees, Portraits, Macros, Water (freeze+blur), Night scenes, Long exposures, Bokeh, DJ Party, Stage Dance videos to name a few. 😀 But yes, I am taking it slow this time as I was told by everyone 🙂

  3. 🙂 Congratulations on your new acquisition… and yes this pic is super cool too… liked the clarity 🙂 I agree with kiran about taking it slowly and learn patiently and you will enjoy your photography more 🙂

  4. Yay for an SLR! You’ll get used to everything soon enough. I know for me, taking a 5-hour SLR crash-course class helped me out a lot… just keep posting those photos! Can’t wait to see more.

Leave a Reply

